Seven Liberal Arts

In the medieval European university the seven liberal arts were:

Trivium: Grammar, Rhetoric, and Logic


Quadrivium: Geometry, Arithmetic(numerology), Music, and Astronomy

Higher forms of education all ways are the Quadrivium as the Trivium was used for the common man that needed to specialize in something. The people that studied the quadrivium generally ruled the lower educated.

In modern colleges and universities the liberal arts include the study of literature, languages, philosophy, history, mathematics, and science as the basis of a general, or liberal, education. Sometimes the liberal-arts curriculum is described as comprehending study of three main branches of knowledge: the humanities (literature, language, philosophy, the fine arts, and history), the physical and biological sciences and mathematics, and the social sciences.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Become a Patreon!